Daily Prompt: Teacher’s Pet

Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life, either for the better or the worse. How is your life different today because of him or her?

By definition a teacher is “one that teaches”. Obviously the very first thing that comes to mind are school teachers. I’ve had several horrible ones and several who were in a word incredible.

But the teacher who had the most impact on my life was not found within the confines of a classroom. The teacher who had the most impact on my life was Carma D. Mooney. My Great-Grandma.

My Granny

My Granny

She was the gentlest of teachers. Teaching not by lectures but by example. She was crippled from arthritis and very rarely ever able to leave her bedroom. Her hands were bent and gnarled from arthritis but she still spent all of her free time during the year sewing. She created beautiful clothing, dolls and stuffed animals. For her family yes but more importantly for her church. She would have an incredibly large donation of items every December for needy families. She didn’t want anyone to go without. By her example she taught me charity, generosity, determination and most of all love.

I love you and miss you every single day Granny. Thank you for being the most incredible teacher I have ever known.

About marillionflower

Mom of 5 amazing kids from 21 to 4 years old. Grandma to a beautiful baby girl. Married to the love of my life and loving life in South Dakota
This entry was posted in Postaday, Teachers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

