Daily Prompt: 1984

You’re locked in a room with your greatest fear. Describe what’s in the room.

I’m all alone in my room. Puttering around and just enjoying the peace and quiet. Hubby has taken the kids to run some errands with him. It’s finally a chance for a little me time. No demands, no 1001 questions. I’m not used to me time and I don’t know what I want to do first. Music? No that defeats the whole peace and quiet thing. Maybe I’ll sit and read a bit. I grab my latest book and get all cozy on the couch.

The quiet is shattered by an authoritative pounding on the front door. BOOM BOOM BOOM! I jump and drop my book. My adrenaline is pumping and my knees feel shaky as I walk across the room to the door. The doorknob is slippery under my suddenly sweaty hand. I fumble for a moment and then pull the door open.

A police officer is standing there. “Ma’am I regret to inform you that your family was in an accident….”

My greatest fear. Something happening to my family.

About marillionflower

Mom of 5 amazing kids from 21 to 4 years old. Grandma to a beautiful baby girl. Married to the love of my life and loving life in South Dakota
This entry was posted in Family, Postaday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

